Project facts
- Decision / announcement date
- 2026-10-14
- Date precision
- day
- Sector
- Semiconductors & Electronics
- Facility action
- Expansion
- Facility type
- Semiconductor fabs (two new 300mm fabs on existing Malta campus)
- Project status
- Announced
Figures & qualifications
- Capital category
- Planned
- Capital scope
- site
- Jobs basis
- CAPITAL SOURCE: Public (government-financed; not private capex). Counted at ~$10B for the first fab only ('initial investment of approximately $10 billion'). Second fab (~$10B, 'would fund') and the up-to-$21B total are proposed and excluded. Japan provides the funding; SIA statement says the facilities will be 'jointly owned by the U.S. and Japan and operated by GlobalFoundries'; the GlobalFoundries release itself does not state ownership. GlobalFoundries is operator and technology provider, not capital investor. Jobs left blank: release says 'more than 1,000 high-skilled manufacturing jobs' without stating direct/permanent; ~27,000 construction/ecosystem jobs never counted. Commerce ~4% equity stake in GF and the $955M CHIPS reallocation are separate and not counted. County not stated in source, not shown.
An initial investment of approximately $10 billion will finance a new semiconductor fabrication facility operated by GlobalFoundries at its Malta, New York campus. Funding comes from Japan under a bilateral government investment initiative, and the Semiconductor Industry Association says the facilities will be jointly owned by the U.S. and Japan. GlobalFoundries is providing technology and operational expertise rather than financing construction. A second fab, also about $10 billion, is proposed and not counted here.
Not yet recorded · 5 fields
Project / facility · Jobs classification · Transferred / retained jobs · Construction jobs · Statistical exclusion reason